UNSPSC Taxonomy


The United Nations Standard Products and Services Code is an internationally recognized classification system for goods and services.

The specification calls for four levels:

  1. Segment

    • A logical aggregation of families useful for analyzing trends.

  2. Family

    • A related group of class categories.

  3. Class

    • A group of commodities with common characteristics, but not necessarily interchangeable with each other.

  4. Commodity

    • A group of interchangeable items.

After loading the UNSPSC matrix to the four tables representing each level of classification, assign codes to Catalog Items.